Vrbo Payment Processing Fee: What the 12% Includes

Vrbo moves hosts to a 12% commission on Thursday, October 29, 2026. When we published the full October 29 repricing math on October 2, Vrbo had not said whether its 3% payment processing fee sat inside that 12% or on top of it, so the post carried two sets of numbers.
Vrbo has since answered in writing. An Expedia Group newsroom FAQ titled Vrbo Compensation Model Changes, dated October 1, 2026 and last modified October 7, 2026 according to the page's own metadata, says the 12% includes payment processing. It also settles which bookings pay the new rate and says the guest fee will be priced dynamically, at a level Vrbo will not disclose.
This post covers only what is new, with every quote taken from Vrbo's pages as they read on October 11, 2026.
Key facts
- Vrbo hosts pay "a flat 12% commission fee on bookings, which includes payment processing fees," effective October 29, 2026, according to Expedia Group's newsroom FAQ as it read on October 11, 2026.
- The rate follows the booking date: "Commission rates will be calculated based on the time the booking was made, regardless of the stay dates," per the same FAQ.
- Commission rates range "from 12-15%" by region and brand, and hosts can find their own rate in the Vrbo Dashboard, per the FAQ.
- "Vrbo does not disclose its traveler service fee range," and the fee will be priced "dynamically based on market conditions," per the FAQ.
- On a $1,500 booking, holding your payout takes a 7.95% price increase if you paid 5% before and 4.55% if you paid 8%. The 11.76% and 8.24% figures from our earlier Scenario B no longer apply to hosts paid through Vrbo.
What does Vrbo's FAQ settle about payment processing?
Processing is inside the 12%
Under the question "Does Vrbo still charge additional payment processing fees?", the FAQ says: "Beginning October 29, 2026, payment processing fees are going away for hosts who are on Vrbo's merchant of record." A merchant of record is the business that charges the guest's card. If Vrbo collects the guest's payment and pays you out, that business is Vrbo.
Vrbo's help center agrees. Its article About the pay-per-booking (PPB) model describes "a flat, all-in 12% commission fee, which includes payment processing fees."
The FAQ adds a caveat: "There are some regional exceptions where payment processing fees are still charged." It does not name the regions. The help article says hosts using property management software "may be charged 12%-15%" in "some regions, such as Europe, Australia, or New Zealand." The FAQ does not address hosts who process guest payments themselves; they should confirm their rate in the Dashboard.
The repricing numbers are 7.95% and 4.55%
With processing inside the commission, the math has one scenario. On a $1,500 subtotal before tax:
- Old payout at 5% (software connected hosts): $1,500 x 0.95 = $1,425.00
- Old payout at 8% (5% commission plus 3% processing): $1,500 x 0.92 = $1,380.00
- New payout at 12%: $1,500 x 0.88 = $1,320.00
To keep the same payout, divide rather than add. From 5%: 0.95 / 0.88 = 1.0795, a 7.95% increase, which makes the booking $1,619.32. From 8%: 0.92 / 0.88 = 1.0455, a 4.55% increase, or $1,568.18. Adding 7 points to cover a 7 point fee increase leaves you short.
What the 12% applies to, and one line to check
The FAQ says commission is "based on the nightly rate and additional fees the host charges the traveler," and gives cleaning, pet, and boat fees as examples. A $150 cleaning fee passed through at cost now nets $132.00.
Taxes are handled differently, and here two Vrbo pages do not say quite the same thing. The FAQ says "Taxes and refundable damage deposits are treated separately from the commission." The help article, read the same day, says: "Taxes and security deposits are subject to a 3% payment processing fee but not a 12% commission fee." The article carries no date and does not say whether that sentence survives October 29.
The exposure is small. If you collect $150 of lodging tax through Vrbo on a $1,500 booking and the 3% applies, that is $150 x 0.03 = $4.50. Check the tax line on your first payout statement for a booking made after October 29.
Which bookings pay 12%? The booking date rule
The FAQ's answer under "What about bookings made before the commission change?" is direct. Bookings made after the new model takes effect get the new rate. Earlier bookings "will be subject to the host's previous commission rate, plus the usual payment processing fee if Vrbo is the merchant of record."
So a reservation made on October 28 for a stay next July keeps your old rate. A reservation made on October 29 for the same dates pays 12%.
Why the price change belongs on October 29
Because the rate follows the booking date, the price change belongs on October 29 itself, across all future stay dates. Stays already on your calendar need no action.
A host who does nothing nets $105.00 less (from 5%) or $60.00 less (from 8%) on every $1,500 booking made on or after October 29, whatever the stay date.
A host who raises prices early gets a different result. From 5%, a booking made before October 29 at $1,619.32 still pays the old rate, so it nets $1,619.32 x 0.95 = $1,538.35, which is $113.35 above the old payout. That is not free money. The guest sees a higher price plus today's guest fee, and you carry the conversion risk for margin you did not need.
Where to make the change
If you use property management software, raise the Vrbo channel markup, not your base rate, which also feeds your Airbnb and direct prices. Hospitable's help article on the Vrbo change, for example, points hosts to a per-channel markup in each property's pricing settings.
Is Vrbo lowering the guest service fee?
Probably, by an amount Vrbo will not state. The FAQ says "Vrbo does not disclose its traveler service fee range," that the fee "will typically be lower following the compensation model changes," and that "Vrbo will price the fee dynamically based on market conditions."
Vrbo's service fee help article gives no number either. It says the fee is a percentage of the reservation before taxes and refundable fees, and that the percentage varies with the reservation amount. StaySTRA's October 9 explainer puts the current fee at 11% to 14% and says Vrbo "has not confirmed a new rate." Treat that range as reported, not as Vrbo's figure.
The break-even guest fee
A host who fully reprices raises the guest's base price, so the guest pays less in total only if the service fee falls far enough. Guest total today is price x (1 + old fee). After a full reprice it is price x uplift x (1 + new fee). The two are equal when:
new fee = (1 + old fee) / uplift - 1
- Host coming from 5% (uplift 1.0795): an 11% fee today breaks even at 1.11 / 1.0795 - 1 = 2.82%, and a 14% fee at 5.60%.
- Host coming from 8% (uplift 1.0455): an 11% fee today breaks even at 6.17%, and a 14% fee at 9.04%.
Assume a 12% guest fee today: the guest pays $1,500 x 1.12 = $1,680.00. After a 7.95% reprice the guest pays $1,813.64 if the fee stays at 12% and $1,700.28 if it falls to 5%. The fee has to drop to about 3.75% before that guest pays the same as today.
This is a way to read your own checkout after the switch, not a forecast.
What the FAQ does not say
Rate parity. Skift reported on October 7, 2026 that Vrbo plans to ease its rate parity rule after host pushback. The article is behind a paywall, so we cite it only for the fact of the report. The FAQ was last modified the same day, and as of October 11, 2026 it does not mention rate parity. Until the Host Terms change, assume the parity language analyzed in our October 2 post still applies, which matters for a Vrbo-only price increase. We could not reload the Host Terms on October 11, so we do not quote them again here.
The off-platform clause. Asked whether Vrbo can charge commission when a traveler searches on Vrbo and then books on another channel, the FAQ does not deny it. It calls the clause "a protection that has existed in Vrbo's Listing Agreements for several years."
Software hosts. "Additional fees may vary for hosts using property management software," the FAQ says, without explaining which fees or by how much.
Subscription timing. For legacy subscribers, "changes will go into effect at the end of their subscription term." RentalScaleUp's September 30 analysis had listed that timing as undisclosed.
What to do before October 29
- Find your rate in the Vrbo Dashboard and confirm whether you are at 12% or higher in the 12% to 15% band.
- Compute your uplift by division: 7.95% from 5%, 4.55% from 8%. Apply the same factor to pass-through fees such as cleaning.
- Schedule the Vrbo markup to start October 29. Leave existing reservations alone.
- Screenshot a logged-out checkout total this week, then repeat on October 29 to see the new guest fee on your own listing.
- Read your first post-switch payout line by line, including any processing charge on taxes or deposits.
- Set your direct price last, once you can see the real Vrbo guest total. Our guide to pricing a direct site against the OTAs walks through that comparison.
If your listing is enrolled, Members Only Deals discounts stack on top of the commission.
What to watch next
Two things will fill in the remaining gaps: the Host Terms that take effect October 29 (look for any change to the parity wording) and the first guest fee totals after the switch.
The guest fee decides the comparison hosts care about, which is total platform take. A 12% host commission plus a 5% guest fee is a different cost from 12% plus 12%, and only half of that sum is public today. Our earlier look at how Vrbo and Airbnb host fees compare predates the change.
For scale, the same $1,500 stay booked on a host's own site costs card processing only. At Stripe's published 2.9% plus 30 cents for domestic cards, that is $1,500 x 0.029 + $0.30 = $43.80, against $180.00 in Vrbo commission. Haven builds direct booking websites on a host's own domain and charges no booking commission, which is one way to put that gap to work with repeat guests.
FAQ
Does Vrbo's 12% commission include payment processing?
Yes, for hosts paid through Vrbo. Expedia Group's newsroom FAQ says the 12% "includes payment processing fees" and that separate processing fees end on October 29, 2026 for hosts on Vrbo's merchant of record. Vrbo notes regional exceptions, and its help center still lists a 3% processing fee on taxes and security deposits.
Do Vrbo bookings made before October 29 pay the new 12% rate?
No. Vrbo says commission is calculated "based on the time the booking was made, regardless of the stay dates." A booking made before the change keeps the host's previous commission rate plus the usual processing fee, even if the stay is months later.
Is Vrbo lowering the guest service fee?
Vrbo says the traveler service fee "will typically be lower" after the change, but it does not disclose the range and will set the fee dynamically. A host who raises prices 7.95% needs the guest fee to fall to roughly 3% to 6% before the guest's total stops rising.
Does Vrbo charge commission on cleaning fees and taxes?
Commission applies to the nightly rate and to fees the host charges the traveler, including cleaning, pet, and boat fees. Vrbo says taxes and refundable damage deposits are treated separately from the commission.


