Vrbo 12% Commission: The Oct. 29 Repricing Math

Vrbo emailed hosts on September 29, 2026 to say that its two-tier fee structure is ending. The email, as quoted by RentalScaleUp, reads: "Beginning October 29, 2026, you will transition to a single, transparent 12% commission fee." Until now, hosts connected through property management software paid 5%, and hosts without software paid about 8% (a 5% commission plus a 3% payment processing fee).
As of October 2, 2026, that leaves 27 days to reprice. Covering a move from 5% to 12% takes a 7.95% price increase, not 7%, and most coverage skips that arithmetic.
Vrbo's new Host Terms of Service, also effective October 29, 2026, contain a clause that compares what you give Vrbo against what you publish on "your own websites, applications, booking engines." Hosts with a direct booking site should read it before then.
Key facts
- Vrbo's flat 12% host commission begins October 29, 2026, according to the email Vrbo sent hosts on September 29, 2026, as quoted by RentalScaleUp.
- Previous rates were 5% for software connected hosts and about 8% (5% commission plus 3% payment processing) for hosts without software, RentalScaleUp reported on September 30, 2026.
- To keep the same payout, a host moving from 5% must raise prices 7.95% (0.95 / 0.88), and a host moving from 8% must raise them 4.55% (0.92 / 0.88).
- Vrbo's pay-per-booking help page, read on October 2, 2026, describes the fee as "a flat, all-in 12% commission fee" and still carries two sentences about a 3% payment processing fee.
- Section 1.5 of the new Host Terms lets a host who disagrees terminate by removing listings "within the 30-day notice period."
What changes on October 29, 2026
The old two-tier structure
The UK version of Vrbo's fee page, which had not been updated when we read it on October 2, 2026, still shows the old structure: a 5% commission on the rental amount and host fees, plus a 3% payment processing fee, with property management software users exempt from the processing fee. Our earlier comparison of Vrbo and Airbnb host fees was built on that structure and now describes the before state.
The new single rate
From October 29, 2026, the commission is 12% for both groups. Skift reported on September 29, 2026 that legacy annual subscription hosts are moving to 12% as well, though RentalScaleUp notes that Vrbo has not disclosed how that transition works. The new terms point the same direction: section 4.7.1 says Vrbo "is not accepting new Subscription Listings and may not allow the renewal of prior Subscription Listings."
Headlines call this a doubling. Going from 5% to 12% multiplies the fee by 2.4 (12 / 5). Going from 8% to 12% multiplies it by 1.5 (12 / 8).
What the commission is charged on
The commission base is wider than the nightly rate. Section 4.6.1 of the Host Terms defines it as "a percentage of the total rental amount (including any mandatory fees charged by Host)." Vrbo's help page says the 12% applies to "the rental amount and any additional fees you charge to the traveler (such as cleaning, pet, and boat fees)." Section 4.6.2 excludes taxes.
So the 12% comes out of your cleaning fee too. A $150 cleaning fee passed through at cost now nets $132.
How much to raise your Vrbo price
A fee is taken from the price the guest pays, so covering it means dividing, not adding, the same method behind the 18.34% markup in our Airbnb host fee repricing checklist.
Take a booking with a $1,500 subtotal (rent plus cleaning and other mandatory host fees, before tax).
- Old, software connected at 5%: fee $75.00, payout $1,425.00.
- Old, no software at 8%: fee $120.00, payout $1,380.00.
- New at 12%: fee $180.00, payout $1,320.00.
That is $105.00 less per booking for the software connected host (7.37% of $1,425) and $60.00 less for the host without software (4.35% of $1,380).
To keep the payout you have today
- From 5%: 0.95 / 0.88 = 1.0795, a 7.95% increase. The $1,500 booking becomes $1,619.32, and 88% of that is $1,425.00.
- From 8%: 0.92 / 0.88 = 1.0455, a 4.55% increase. The $1,500 booking becomes $1,568.18, and 88% of that is $1,380.00.
Raising by the simple difference falls short. A host at 5% who adds 7% gets $1,605.00, keeps 88%, and nets $1,412.40, $12.60 short on every $1,500 booking.
To pass through the full 12%
If your goal is to net the full $1,500, the markup is 1 / 0.88 = 1.1364, or 13.64%. A 12% increase leaves you at $1,478.40.
Is the payment processing fee inside the 12%?
The email did not answer this, and Vrbo's own pages point both ways.
The pay-per-booking help page, as read on October 2, 2026, lists exactly one item under what the booking fee includes: "A flat, all-in 12% commission fee." "All-in" suggests processing is folded into the rate.
But the same page still has a payment processing section stating that "the 3% payment processing fee is charged on the total payment amount you receive from your guest, including taxes and refundable damage deposits," and a line saying taxes and security deposits "are subject to a 3% payment processing fee but not a 12% commission fee." Section 4.6.1 of the new Host Terms also lists the commission and "a payment processing fee" as two separate items. Vrbo's updated payment terms, dated September 29, 2026, say in section 1.12 that a fee for payment processing "may apply" and that the rate will be shown on a separate fee disclosure page.
The help page appears to be mid-revision: one line still refers to "the 5% commission."
Plan for both outcomes.
- Scenario A, processing is inside the 12%: the numbers above stand. Increase 7.95% from the old 5% tier, or 4.55% from the old 8% tier.
- Scenario B, 3% processing sits on top (unconfirmed): the host side total on the subtotal is 15%, and the divisor becomes 0.85. From 5%: 0.95 / 0.85 = 1.1176, an 11.76% increase. From 8%: 0.92 / 0.85 = 1.0824, an 8.24% increase. Because that fee is described as applying to taxes and deposits too, the real figure would run slightly higher.
Your first payout statement after October 29 will show which scenario is real.
The parity clause now names your own website
Section 4.5.7 of the new Host Terms reads, in part: "you will provide to Vrbo Content and Host Ancillaries that are at least as complete, accurate, current, detailed, and favorable as the information, content, services, amenities, fees, policies, rules, restrictions, availability, booking conditions, and other materials that you make available through your own websites, applications, booking engines, call centers, social media channels, property management systems, APIs, data feeds" or any third-party channel.
A parity clause is a contract term requiring that what you offer one channel be at least as good as what you offer elsewhere.
What the text says. The words "rates" and "discounts" do not appear in section 4.5.7 itself. They appear in section 5.5.1, which defines "Content" to include "availability, rates, discounts, fees, taxes, cancellation policies, booking conditions." Through that defined term, rates and discounts come within the clause's reach.
What else is new. Section 12.7.2 adds that a host will not make Content available through any other channel "in a manner that is materially more complete, accurate, current, structured, machine-readable, searchable, bookable, or useful to travelers" than what Vrbo receives. Section 4.8.1 treats a direct booking completed "as a result of and within thirty (30) days of" a Vrbo inquiry as an off-platform booking that owes the commission.
What the terms do not say. We found no penalty schedule and no published enforcement method tied to 4.5.7 or 12.7.2. Whether Vrbo intends to police a direct booking discount is not stated. This is a clause to watch, not a reason to change direct pricing today. If direct bookings are a meaningful share of revenue, ask an attorney about these three sections. Haven's research on direct versus intermediated booking covers how hotel rate-parity rules changed pricing.
How Vrbo's take now compares
Airbnb's single fee is 15.5% for most hosts, with nothing charged separately to the guest, according to Airbnb's service fee page. Vrbo at 12% looks cheaper on the host side, but Vrbo still charges travelers. Its service fee help page describes "a percentage of the reservation total (before taxes and refundable fees)" that varies with the reservation amount.
Skift reported that guest fees run 11% to 14% today and that Vrbo plans to cut them sharply while keeping some service fee. Vrbo has not published the new level. The real comparison is total platform take, host side plus guest side, and half of that number is not public yet.
The 12% also stacks on the other costs Vrbo added this year. Members Only Deals discount enrolled listings by up to 20%, and sponsored listings bill a minimum of $5 per booked night.
What to do before October 29
- Find your current rate. Check a recent Vrbo payout to confirm whether you were at 5% or 5% plus 3%.
- Reprice by division. Apply 7.95% or 4.55% to hold your payout under Scenario A. Keep the Scenario B figures (11.76% or 8.24%) ready in case a separate processing fee appears.
- Check channel markups in your software. A per-channel Vrbo markup was built for a 5% fee. Update it instead of raising your base rate on every channel.
- Include the cleaning fee. The commission applies to mandatory host fees, so a pass-through cleaning fee needs the same division.
- Read sections 4.5.7, 4.8.1, and 12.7.2 against how your direct site is priced and what it offers that your Vrbo listing does not.
- Decide whether to stay. Section 1.5 allows termination by removing listings within the 30-day notice period. Thirty days from September 29, 2026 is October 29, 2026.
What to watch next
Three things are unresolved as of October 2, 2026: whether a separate processing fee survives, what the new traveler service fee will be, and which rate applies to a reservation booked before October 29 for a stay after it. Neither the email as quoted nor the terms address the last point, so do not assume the old rate carries over.
A direct channel does not replace Vrbo, but it changes the math on repeat guests. Haven builds branded direct booking websites and charges no booking commission, so the guest relationship and the guest data stay with the host.
FAQ
How much do I need to raise my Vrbo prices to cover the 12% commission?
To keep your current payout, raise prices 7.95% if you were paying 5% (0.95 / 0.88) or 4.55% if you were paying about 8% (0.92 / 0.88). To net your full pre-fee amount, raise them 13.64% (1 / 0.88).
Is Vrbo's 3% payment processing fee included in the new 12%?
It is unconfirmed as of October 2, 2026. Vrbo's help page calls the new rate "a flat, all-in 12% commission fee," which points to yes, but the same page and the new Host Terms still describe a separate payment processing fee. Check the first payout statement after October 29, 2026.
Does Vrbo's new parity clause mean I cannot charge less on my own website?
The terms do not say that in plain words. Section 4.5.7 requires that the Content you give Vrbo be at least as favorable as what you publish on your own websites and booking engines, and section 5.5.1 defines Content to include rates and discounts. Vrbo has published no enforcement method or penalty for it.
Can I leave Vrbo instead of accepting the new terms?
Yes. Section 1.5 of the Host Terms says a host who does not agree may terminate by removing listings and ceasing to use the service within the 30-day notice period, which runs to October 29, 2026.


