Airbnb Alternatives (2026): Every Option Compared on Fees

Most lists of Airbnb alternatives answer the wrong question. They rank sites by inventory or design and leave out the number a traveler actually wants: who takes a cut of the booking, which side of the transaction it comes from, and how large it is. The fee decides whether a $1,000 stay costs $1,000 or $1,120 at checkout, and whether the host who cleaned the house kept $970 or $845 of it.
As of October 2026 the answer has changed more than in any year since Airbnb launched. Airbnb charges most hosts a single 15.5% host-only fee and shows guests no separate service fee. Vrbo moves hosts to a 12% commission on bookings made from October 29, 2026, and still adds a traveler service fee it does not disclose. Booking.com averages 15% from the host and adds nothing at the guest's checkout. Around those three sit platforms that charge the guest nothing at all, because they are directories, subscriptions, or the host's own website.
This guide compares every option on the same terms: guest fee, host fee, inventory, and the trip it suits. Each platform's numbers come from its own pricing or help page, read this month; where a platform does not publish a figure we say so. Airbnb has its own section too, because for several kinds of trip it is still the right choice.
Key facts
- Airbnb charges most hosts a 15.5% host-only service fee on the booking subtotal and charges guests no separate service fee, per its help center as read in October 2026. The subtotal is the nightly rate plus cleaning, pet and extra-guest fees, before taxes.
- Vrbo charges hosts a 12% commission on bookings made on or after October 29, 2026, payment processing included, and adds a traveler service fee that Vrbo "does not disclose" and prices dynamically. The percentage varies with the reservation amount and hosts cannot waive it.
- Booking.com's commission averages 15% globally, varying by country and property type, and it tells travelers it charges "no booking fees" and adds no administrative charges.
- Houfy takes no commission from hosts and charges guests no platform service fee. The exception is a 5% API connection fee on listings connected through a property management system, added at checkout unless the host chooses to absorb it.
- A stay booked on a host's own website carries no platform fee on either side. The host pays card processing, 2.9% plus 30 cents on Stripe's standard domestic rate, which is $29.30 on a $1,000 stay against Airbnb's $155.
- Furnished Finder (30-night minimum, landlords pay $199 a year), HomeExchange ($235 a year for unlimited swaps) and Savvy (hosts pay 5% per booking, guests nothing) remove the guest fee by charging someone else, or by charging a flat subscription instead.
Every option on one table
| Platform | Guest service fee | Host fee | Inventory | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Airbnb | None for most listings | 15.5% for most hosts (14% to 16% range; 16% in Brazil and Mexico) | The largest selection of homes and rooms worldwide | First-time visits to unfamiliar places, rooms, unusual stays |
| Vrbo | Undisclosed, priced dynamically; varies with the reservation amount | 12% from October 29, 2026 (12% to 15% by region), processing included | Whole homes only, strongest in US vacation markets | Family and group trips to beach, lake and mountain towns |
| Booking.com | None | 15% average, varying by country and property type; 1.1% to 3.1% more when it processes payment | Hotels, apartments and homes, strongest outside the US | City trips, Europe and Asia, mixing hotels with rentals |
| Houfy | None, except a 5% API connection fee on PMS-connected listings | None; optional plans at $7.99 or $11.99 per listing per month | Independent hosts, many also on Airbnb | Repeat stays with a host you already trust |
| Host's own site | None | Card processing, about 2.9% plus 30 cents | One host, one portfolio | Returning to a place you liked, longer stays, direct questions |
| Furnished Finder | None; no online booking or payment | $199 a year per listing, no commission | Furnished monthly rentals, 30-night minimum | Travel nurses, relocations, remote-work months |
| HomeExchange | None per stay; $235 a year membership | Same membership | Members' own homes, swapped or booked with points | Homeowners who travel more than once a year |
| Plum Guide | 12% under the shared structure; none under the host-only structure | 3% shared or 16.5% host-only; one-time $400 onboarding fee | Vetted homes in major cities and holiday regions | Design-led stays where the shortlist is the point |
| Savvy (formerly bnbfinder) | None | 5% per confirmed booking, billed monthly | Professionally managed rentals only | Checking the direct price of a listing you found on Airbnb |
Two things to carry from the table. A platform with no guest fee is not necessarily cheaper, because a host paying 15.5% to Airbnb has usually priced that into the nightly rate everywhere the listing appears; the host fee column explains why the same house can show a different price on each site. And "undisclosed" is a real answer, which Vrbo alone among the large platforms gives. The sections below take the options in order of how useful they are to a traveler who wants to spend less.
Vrbo
Vrbo is the obvious first stop. It lists whole homes only, no rooms, which makes it the better search for a family or a group that wants a kitchen and more than one bathroom, and its inventory is deepest in the US vacation markets where it started: beach towns, lake houses, ski cabins.
On fees, the two platforms have converged from opposite directions. Expedia Group's announcement moves Vrbo hosts to "a flat 12% commission fee on bookings, which includes payment processing fees" for bookings made on or after October 29, 2026, with a range of 12% to 15% by region and brand. Airbnb's host fee is 15.5%. That gap, 3.5 points, is the host's problem, and Vrbo vs Airbnb host fees works through why it narrows once the guest's side is counted.
The guest's side is where Vrbo differs. Vrbo adds a traveler service fee at checkout, and its help page describes it only as "a percentage of the reservation total (before taxes and refundable fees)" whose percentage "varies depending on the reservation amount." Expedia Group's FAQ says plainly that "Vrbo does not disclose its traveler service fee range," that the fee "will typically be lower" after the October change, and that it will be priced "dynamically based on market conditions." Hosts cannot waive or reduce it. The displayed total does include it, so the number on the listing page is the number you pay before taxes; what you cannot know is how much of it went to Vrbo. A cancellation inside the window for a full refund returns the fee too. Vrbo host fees explained has the host-side detail.
Booking.com
Booking.com is the largest of the three major platforms by hotel inventory and the weakest of them in US vacation rentals, which is why it belongs on this list: for a city trip, for Europe, for anywhere a hotel and an apartment are both in play, it often has inventory the others do not. Its About page promises travelers "no booking fees" and no administrative charges, and the price you see is the host's price plus taxes.
The platform earns its money from the property. Booking.com describes its commission as a set percentage of the total booking amount, including cleaning and other fees, charged once the guest checks out. It publishes a global average of 15%, with the exact rate depending on country, property type and the agreement the host signed, and it adds 1.1% to 3.1% when it collects the guest's card on the host's behalf. Hosts who join the Genius program fund a further 10% discount themselves. What Booking.com actually charges hosts stacks those pieces. For travelers, the short version is that a Booking.com rental host works with roughly the same margin as an Airbnb host, so prices tend to match.
Practical differences matter more than fee differences here. Cancellation terms are set per rate plan and are often more flexible than vacation-rental norms, many listings take payment at the property, and rental inventory is still thin in the US markets where Airbnb and Vrbo dominate.
Houfy
Houfy is the clearest no-fee marketplace for whole-home rentals, and the reason it can be is structural: it does not sit in the middle of the payment. Its pricing page states that "Houfy takes no commission on your bookings," and hosts connect their own Stripe, Square or PayPal account, so a guest's card payment settles with the host directly. Hosts pay a one-time $5.99 verification and, if they want more features, $7.99 or $11.99 per listing per month. Guests pay no platform service fee.
There is one exception, and Houfy documents it rather than hiding it. When a listing is connected through a property management system or channel manager, and the host has a payment processor connected, Houfy adds "an API connection fee of 5% of the booking subtotal, before tax." It appears as its own line at checkout. Houfy's help center says the host chooses whether the guest or the host pays it when confirming the booking, and that it is "not a commission and it is not deducted from your payout." So the Houfy price you see is either the host's price or the host's price plus 5%, and the checkout tells you which.
Because many Houfy hosts also list on Airbnb, Houfy works best as a second search: find the house, then check whether the same host has it on Houfy without the markup that covers Airbnb's 15.5%. The trade is that Houfy supplies no payment escrow and no platform-run resolution process. Cancellation terms are the host's, and the recourse if something goes wrong is your card issuer and the rental agreement you signed.
Booking direct on a host's own site
The option with no platform fee on either side is the host's own website. A direct booking carries no guest service fee and no commission; the host pays card processing, 2.9% plus 30 cents on Stripe's standard domestic rate. On a $1,000 stay that is $29.30 kept by the processor, against $155 kept by Airbnb from the same booking. Airbnb vs Vrbo vs direct booking runs the same stay through every channel; the $125.70 difference is the room a host has to offer a direct guest a lower price or a free night and still come out ahead.
Finding the site is the work. Most hosts with a direct channel also list on Airbnb or Vrbo, and the listing itself usually carries a trace: the property's name in the title, a logo in the photos, a business name in the host profile. A search for that name finds the site. Small directories exist for the same purpose; Haven Stays at /stays is one, a directory of independently run stays booked direct with no guest fee, and Houfy and Savvy above serve the same function at different scales. How to book a vacation rental directly walks through each route, and Airbnb alternatives with no service fee collects the options where the guest pays nothing extra.
Booking direct asks more of the traveler. Read the cancellation policy on the booking page itself, expect a rental agreement, and pay by card so a dispute path exists. In return you deal with the person who owns the house, and the price you pay funds the house rather than the marketplace.
Furnished Finder (30 nights or longer)
Furnished Finder is a different kind of site, and for a month-long stay it is the first place to look. It began as housing for travel nurses and now lists furnished monthly rentals across the US. Every property requires a stay of at least 30 nights, and there is no online booking or payment: you contact the landlord through the site, agree dates, sign the landlord's lease and pay the landlord directly.
The fee model follows from that. Furnished Finder's FAQ says the platform is free for travelers, and its pricing article sets the landlord's cost at an annual subscription, $199 per listing from January 2, 2026, with $149 per add-on unit and $750 for an entire hotel or apartment complex, a figure the pricing page says rises to $1,000 on October 27, 2026. There is no booking commission on either side. Landlords may require a tenant screening, which the applicant typically pays, and may ask for a security deposit under the lease.
The platform is not party to the lease, so disputes are between landlord and tenant, and the site's own guidance tells tenants to verify the listing and read the lease before paying. For a 30-night stay that trade is usually right: Airbnb's monthly rentals carry the same 15.5% host fee as a weekend, and a landlord who does not pay it can list the same apartment for less.
HomeExchange
HomeExchange replaces the nightly rate with a membership. Members pay $235 a year and, in the site's words, can "organize as many exchanges as you want for 12 months, with no additional fees." Stays come in two forms: a reciprocal swap, where two members trade homes, and a GuestPoints stay, where hosting other members earns points that pay for nights in someone else's home. Damage coverage is included in the membership.
The economics are unlike anything else on this list. There is no fee per stay because there is no price per stay; a household that travels twice a year pays under $120 per trip for accommodation, and one that travels more pays less. The constraint is that you have to own or rent a home worth offering, be willing to host, and plan around other members' availability. It suits homeowners who travel often and are comfortable with strangers in their kitchen, and it does not suit a single week's beach trip booked a month out.
Plum Guide
Plum Guide is a curated marketplace: homes are inspected against a long checklist before listing, and the shortlist is the product. For a traveler who would rather choose from thirty vetted apartments in Lisbon than three thousand unvetted ones, that is the value.
Plum Guide's help center describes two fee structures, and which one you meet depends on the host. Under the shared structure, 3% is charged to the host and 12% to the guest on the total accommodation charges, cleaning fee included. Under the host-only structure, 16.5% is charged to the host and nothing to the guest. Hosts also pay a one-time onboarding fee of £300, €300 or $400, deducted from their first payout. So a Plum Guide checkout shows either no service fee or a 12% one, and the only way to know is to reach it. Prices sit at the upper end of the market, a product decision as much as a fee decision.
Savvy (formerly bnbfinder)
Savvy is a search engine for the direct price. It lists only properties run by professional property management companies, shows the manager's book-direct rate, and puts a comparison beside it: the same stay on Airbnb against the same stay on Savvy, with the saving as a percentage. Its homepage promises "$0 platform markup."
On the host side the model is modest and published. Savvy's listing page says managers pay 5% per confirmed booking, billed monthly, and that it does not charge transaction fees or traveler booking fees. Optional "Boost" placement runs from $24.95 to $99.95 per listing per month. Bookings flow into the manager's own property management system, with the manager as merchant of record, so the payment, the agreement and the cancellation terms are the manager's rather than Savvy's. The limitation is scope: an independent host with one cabin will not be on it, while a managed condo or resort-town home usually is. Cheaper alternatives to Airbnb compares the saving against the other no-fee routes.
When Airbnb is still the right choice
A fair comparison has to say when the incumbent wins, and Airbnb wins more often than a list of alternatives implies.
The fee picture is now in the guest's favor. As of October 2026, Airbnb charges most hosts a 15.5% host-only service fee and charges guests no separate service fee, so the price on the listing is the price before taxes. The legacy split fee, about 3% from the host and 14.1% to 16.5% from the guest, applies only to bookings made before a host's switch date. The cost is still there, priced into the nightly rate. The checkout surprise that used to define Airbnb is gone, and Airbnb adds no guest-side fee of the kind Vrbo still charges. Airbnb host fees explained covers the structure in full.
Airbnb is the right choice for a first visit to a place you do not know, because its selection is the broadest on this list and its reviews are the densest. It is the only large platform that lists private rooms and shared spaces. It holds the payment until after check-in and runs a resolution process when a listing is not as described, which matters most when you have no relationship with the host. Its listing page is also where most direct-booking searches begin: the host's name, the property's name and the photos are the thread that leads to the cheaper price elsewhere.
What Airbnb is not is the cheapest way to book a house you have already stayed in, a 30-night stay, or a managed property whose direct price is one search away. Those are the gaps the alternatives fill.
The useful comparison is one property on every site that lists it, pre-tax totals side by side, because the sites split the cost differently: Airbnb and Booking.com show a single price, Vrbo folds its fee into the displayed total, Houfy may add 5% at checkout, and Plum Guide may add 12%. Then weigh what the total buys. A held payment and a resolution process are worth something on a first visit to a stranger's house, and worth less than the fee that funds them on a return visit to a host you know.
FAQ
What is the best alternative to Airbnb?
It depends on the trip. For a whole-home family stay in a US vacation market, Vrbo has the closest inventory, with a 12% host commission from October 29, 2026 and an undisclosed traveler fee at checkout. For city trips and travel outside the US, Booking.com charges guests no fee and averages 15% from the host. For the lowest price on a specific house, the host's own website or a no-commission directory such as Houfy removes the platform fee entirely. For stays of 30 nights or more, Furnished Finder.
Which booking sites have no service fee?
Booking.com, Houfy, Furnished Finder, Savvy and a host's own direct booking site charge the guest no service fee, and Airbnb no longer shows guests a separate fee on most listings. The difference is who pays instead: Booking.com's host pays about 15%, Savvy's manager pays 5%, Houfy's host pays nothing beyond an optional subscription, and a direct host pays card processing of about 2.9% plus 30 cents. Houfy's one exception is a 5% API connection fee on listings connected through property management software.
Is Vrbo cheaper than Airbnb?
Not reliably. Vrbo's host commission is 12% for bookings made from October 29, 2026, against Airbnb's 15.5%. Vrbo then adds a traveler service fee that it does not disclose and prices dynamically, while Airbnb charges guests no separate fee, so the same house priced to net the host the same amount on both sites can come out close to even. Compare the pre-tax total for your dates on each site; the Vrbo total on the listing page already includes its fee.
Is it safe to book a vacation rental directly?
It is as safe as the checks you make. Pay by credit card so a dispute path exists, read the cancellation policy on the booking page, expect a rental agreement, and confirm the host by matching the property to its Airbnb or Vrbo listing and reviews. What you give up is the platform's held payment and resolution process; what you gain is a lower price and a direct line to the person responsible for the house.
Does Airbnb still charge guests a service fee?
For most listings, no. As of October 2026, Airbnb charges most hosts a 15.5% host-only fee and shows guests no separate service fee. Bookings made with hosts before their switch date still carry the legacy guest fee of 14.1% to 16.5%, and some cross-currency bookings show a fee, but the standard checkout now shows the host's price plus taxes.
What is the cheapest way to book a rental for a month or longer?
Furnished Finder for furnished monthly stays in the US: every listing has a 30-night minimum, travelers pay no fee, and landlords pay a $199 annual subscription instead of a commission, so the rent is not marked up to cover a platform. Booking direct with a host for a long stay is the other route, since a host saving 15.5% on a month-long booking has real room to discount.
Why does the same rental cost different amounts on different sites?
Because each site charges the host a different amount and the host prices accordingly. A host paying 15.5% on Airbnb, 12% plus a traveler fee on Vrbo, 15% on Booking.com and about 3% on their own site will often list at a different rate on each, or list at one rate and pocket more direct. The fee moved from the guest's checkout line to the host's payout statement in 2026. It did not shrink.
Where to go next
If you are choosing between the two largest platforms for a specific trip, Vrbo host fees explained and Airbnb host fees explained show what each site takes and what the guest sees, and Airbnb vs Vrbo vs direct booking puts the same $1,000 stay through every channel. If you want the no-fee routes in one place, start with Airbnb alternatives with no service fee, then how to book a vacation rental directly for the method. If you host as well as travel, the host's version of this guide compares the same platforms from the payout side.
This guide is updated as the platforms change their terms. Every figure above carries the month it was read, and the sources below are the pages to check when a platform announces a new fee.
Sources
- Airbnb Help Center: Airbnb service fees (accessed October 2026)
- Expedia Group newsroom: Vrbo Compensation Model Changes (October 1, 2026; accessed October 2026)
- Vrbo Help: About Vrbo's service fee (accessed October 2026)
- Booking.com Partner Help: Understanding our commission (accessed October 2026)
- Booking.com Partner Help: Understanding Booking.com commission details (accessed October 2026)
- Booking.com: About Booking.com (accessed October 2026)
- Houfy: Houfy Pricing: No Commission on Bookings (accessed October 2026)
- Houfy Help: API Connection Fee & Houfy Connect: Software Partner Integration (accessed October 2026)
- Houfy Help: How do I get paid on Houfy? (accessed October 2026)
- Stripe: Pricing & Fees (accessed October 2026)
- Furnished Finder Support: Furnished Finder 2026 Pricing and FAQs (accessed October 2026)
- Furnished Finder Support: What are the Subscription Prices and Listing Options? (accessed October 2026)
- Furnished Finder: Frequently Asked Questions (accessed October 2026)
- Furnished Finder: Furnished Finder vs. Airbnb for Tenants (accessed October 2026)
- HomeExchange: HomeExchange: How it Works (accessed October 2026)
- Plum Guide Help Center: Fees: Plum Guide fees explained (accessed October 2026)
- Savvy: List your Properties (accessed October 2026)
- Savvy: Boosted Listings: Pricing for Property Managers (accessed October 2026)
- Savvy: Vacation rentals you want, at the prices you deserve (accessed October 2026)


